‘Worth the wait’ Acts 1:4-5

I am once again embarking on a journey through a book of the BIble and you are invited to journey with me. Please don’t expect perfection here because you won’t find it. You will, however, find my thoughts and many unanswered questions, as I seek to understand and live out what Dr Luke has written about Jesus and his disciples.  

_________

“On one occasion, while he was eating with them, he gave them this command: “Do not leave Jerusalem, but wait for the gift my Father promised, which you have heard me speak about. For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.””‭‭Acts‬ ‭1:4-5‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Eating with them’     Jesus was still human after his resurrection.

Jesus took advantage of meal time and ‘the table between them’ to bring instruction to his followers.

His instruction was simple…wait until

He didn’t give them a full picture of what they should do but just the next step.

This is not the first time we have instructions from Jesus about what the disciple says are going to do. We read in Luke,  Jesus telling the disciples that they are to GO and make discovers of all nations. But here he doesn’t say GO…he says wait.

Wait until

stay here until, don’t move until, tarry here

Because I have already been baptised in the Holy Spirit it is easy to lose the sense and feeling of what those words would mean to the disciples who haven’5 and have no idea what it means.  With Jesus still with them, sharing a meal with them and making appearances ..the meaning of his words would have had little effect until he was gone.

There are things in my own life that I feel ready to ‘ GO and do’  yet there is a sense of ‘wait until’. As a leader,  there is a strong sense that others are wanting me to run, go, move, and expecting me to say ‘let’s go’ not ‘wait until…’. I Do n want to go until…I do not want to get up and get running because others are waiting for me  to get moving but I want to only go in the power of the Holy Spirit…there is a danger that I miss what we need to empower us and we will simply bear witness to the past or to what we are int he natural not in the Spirit.

The urgency of what is needed is not the  instruction I hear.  I hear ‘wait until’.

I love this verse…not just because it is instruction but it is full of promise and precedent.

Wait until ..

It is not a ‘wait and once you have received..stay there’

Jesus had promised to ‘equip and empower them with the Holy Spirit.

It is not wait until you have done a course.

It is not wait until you have read this book.

It is not wait until someone else asks you.

It is not wait until you feel like you are ready.

It is not wait until the pressure comes.

It is not wait until everyone else moves.

It is not waiting to be told  what to do

it is not wait around forever

He brings a promise that is easy for us to see but for the disciples they had no idea what it would look like until it happened. We have a gauge and standard to end abotu because Luke documents not only and instruction but the fulfilment of the promise.  He provides us with a documented precedent for livning a spirit filled, empowered and kingdom of God sort of life.

The disciples who had spent three years with Jesus yet they still had to wait, tarry, remain, abide…

if Jesus says wait..

My heart says the urgent needs me and the needs are great but the whisper of heaven says..wait until...until you receive the empowerment promised from heaven.

When Jesus uses baptism in water to point to this new  baptism I am reminded that water baptism is about death and resurrection and a full immersion. When Jesus makes this reference it is in the context of having just died and risen again…. he wants them to experience something not unlike his own death and resurrection where the same power that raised him from the dead resides in  his disciples and empowers them to overcome death in every sense.

I need a death and resurrection encounter with the holy Spirit to before I do and go.

I don’t want to wait for nothing..I want to wait until I too receive that sort of power.

This verse is simply setting me up to see what the outcome fo waiting produces.   We are tarrying to receive something supernatural.

I want supernatural dynamics baptism resurrection power encounters and will not move until that is the space I am in….

If I let the needs or call and cry of those around me lead me, and force me from my wait until space, I will miss what Jesus desires for me and those I influence, need most

Leave a Reply

