Ruth 2:2 Where I’m meant to be…

IMG_1255.JPGOne day Ruth, the Moabite foreigner, said to Naomi, “I’m going to work; I’m going out to glean among the sheaves, following after some harvester who will treat me kindly.” (Ruth 2:2 MSG)

There are so many Prima Donna Christian women demanding their destiny and wanting it now and I can so often be one of those!!!
Not all the time and certainly not so you can see it. I can have days when that is me though. There are days, I feel precious about my calling and my princess status is going to my head. I get a little bit of an entitlement persona where I feel I deserve better and need more. I start questioning how I should be treated and am disappointed with having to get dirty and endure sweltering heat for a few days in a row.

Ruth had no idea what destiny was. She was not wrapped up in her future calling as the grandmother of a future king, nor did she have any idea of what God has in store. Ruth does not say….I have an agenda and I am a somebody so I am going to go a glean in front of the harvesters or I am going to go and demand my share. She knows that the only way to glean in her situation is to follow after the harvesters.

The NIV says it this way:

And Ruth the Moabite said to Naomi, “Let me go to the fields and pick up the leftover grain behind anyone in whose eyes I find favor.” Naomi said to her, “Go ahead, my daughter.” So she went out, entered a field and began to glean behind the harvesters. (‭Ruth‬ ‭2‬:‭2-3‬ NIV)

There is no place for Ruth to be going ahead of harvesters in this story yet that is how we want it to be.

Ruth also looks for harvesters who are kind and will show her favour. Who I follow is just as important as how I follow. Ruth knew what to look for in the ones she was going to glean from….kindness, someone who would show her favour. If I am going to follow, I don’t have to follow blindly. Ruth left one field because she ended up in the field of Boaz. She had to follow harvesters not the farmers and land owners. These were the ones who carried the culture and nature of the farm they worked. She was looking for kindness and favour to follow in the wake of. Such a good lesson discovering my place. There are plenty of workers and plenty of land owners but are they kind and are they going to show a stranger and foreigner kindness and favour or just go along with the law? Is the law of generosity written in the law just that or does it have substance and heart?

Ruth is gleaning barley, unseen and unheralded but she is exactly where she is meant to be!!!! When I am gleaning, unseen and unheralded…maybe that is exactly where I am meant to be.

One thought on “Ruth 2:2 Where I’m meant to be…

Leave a Reply

