Ruth: Gleaning in The Field of Grace

Most days find me in scripture and my response is journalled here so others can glean from my life what I have gleaned from God’s word.

stock-footage-woman-walking-and-touching-wheat-spikes-on-wheat-field

So she went out, entered a field and began to glean behind the harvesters. As it turned out, she was working in a field belonging to Boaz, who was from the clan of Elimelek. (‭Ruth‬ ‭2‬:‭3‬ NIV)’

Gleaning: glean verb ˈglēn : to gather or collect (something) in a gradual way ; to search (something) carefully; to gather grain or other material that is left after the main crop has been gathered.

Today I woke up feeling the beauty of the GLEANING and its correlation to the word of God. If a gleaner gathers and collects in a gradual way…that is what I am doing with the word. I don’t need the whole field to sustain me. I just need a bit. I f I am gleaner, it means I must search the scriptures carefully and find what I need to sustain me. Rushing the gleaning process does not work.

If I am the harvester and am meant to be leaving margins in my life for others to glean from, what are they gleaning?

Harvesting and gathering is not just about me but also about those who need to glean from my life.

For the gleaners, not every farm was a safe place to glean.
Not every farmer was a generous farmer, ready and willing to leave more for those who needed what they provided.

My heart this year is to not only glean in safe fields but also be a  safe place to glean from.

What are they gleaning from my life is in direct correlation to what has been sown in my life. You can not give what you don’t have. My heart needs suring up with the word of God all the time so that when faith is required and generosity is required I am able to come from a place of plenty not from place of empty.

This year I am committed to filling my heart with the fullness of God’s word that sustains me but also provides for the gleaners. I must glean in times of harvest.

This year is another year to glean but also a year I committed to being a safe place to glean from. Barley was only one type of grain. I don’t have to provide every resource but just what I am currently harvesting.

It just ‘so happened ‘ Ruth found herself in the field of Boaz . She found herself in the field of grace: divine appointment or chance???? I believe God will lead me to the field of Grace and provision…it may be said by observers…it just so happened Jenny found herself in the field of grace but I know that God’s providence is working on my behalf.

I don’t want others gleaning in my field the bare leftovers but to take home wagon loads of spiritual food but I can not offer what is not available ..only what is.

2015 is another year of personal commitment to GLEANING: To commit to gleaning and to enabling others to glean from me. It is my responsibility to glean and it is my responsibility to allow other to glean from the fields of my heart.

What others glean is in direct correlation  to what I feed on. 
Will those who come to my field find what they need? Will they be able to glean faith? Hope? Love? Peace? Will they find the promises of God? Fresh grain or old grain?  What if all try find is chaff? Rubbish? bitterness? self importance? gossip? negativity? Whining ….. 

My commitment to 2015 is for other to ‘find’ themselves, to ‘just so happen’ to come to my field because it is a field of grace.  I want God’s providence to lead them to my field because what is available will sustain and help them and nourish them and provide the goodness of the bread of life.  I can not give what I do not have….

caine

One thought on “Ruth: Gleaning in The Field of Grace

  1. Thanks Jenny…
    Very much appreciate your words you dedicate to sharing with all of us!!
    Even though far from Melbourne at the momment..spending some time with Dad..I am grateful for this when we duck into town and get can some reception!!.

    Thank you
    Laura

Leave a Reply

