Ruth: The prodigal brother is me

Then Naomi heard in Moab that the LORD had blessed his people in Judah by giving them good crops again.

‘The lord has blessed his people’

Sitting in the thought ‘ how do we know God is blessing his people’. His favour has evidence … What does blessing look like and sound like?

Blessing is like it magnet that draws us out from where we are. The blessing over God’s people became more attractive to these women then their circumstances. I want my life to do that to others. I want to know that when my life is being blessed it inspires others to return to the house of bread and return to their God. I want to know that when I feel the favour of God and my life is flourishing that those who have left to go to Moab will hear and see it. When I have been the one to not to move to Moab, I don’t want to despise those who did go there. I am reminded of the prodigal son’s brother who found it hard watching the son who had left receive favour from his father. I am so that brother. I can get so proud and yet the blessing over God’s people not only drew Naomi but a foreigner who did not know God.

If I was God I would really struggle to let the Naomi’s and Ruth back in the land of blessing. The father of the prodigal did not berate Or judge his son but welcomed him and favoured him…I am the resentful one who lie, to meet out the law and the fairness of religion. God frustrates me with his grace except when I need it.

So Naomi and her daughters-in-law got ready to leave Moab to return to her homeland.

With her two daughters-in-law she set out from the place where she had been living, and they took the road that would lead them back to Judah. But on the way, Naomi said to her two daughters-in-law, “Go back to your mothers’ homes. And may the LORD reward you for your kindness to your husbands and to me. May the LORD bless you with the security of another marriage.” Then she kissed them good-bye, and they all broke down and wept. “No,” they said. “We want to go with you to your people.” (‭Ruth‬ ‭1‬:‭6-10‬ NLT)<

/em>

They took the road that would lead them back to Naomi’s homeland not the own. they were about to experience the reality of foreigner life..living as strangers and making home out of what is completely counter culture.

What does home look like for me? what is my home land?
What motivates me to leave my homeland or what draw me back there?

Do I know what home is like and what it feels like so that when I leave ‘home’ I know I have left it and when I am returning I know I am returning.

What does the road home feel like? look like? sound like?

The road home is not home.
The road home is tough and it has all the evidence of the in between and the not yet. It’s ok for Naomi…she has no reason to stay but Ruth????

The road from Moab to Bethlehem for two women …what is that road like for me or the ones returning to God. The grief has not left them the emptiness is still there…they have to navigate the loss of family and now the loss of a dear friend Orpah. there are so many women who are still not quite home. How do I help them return to the he of bread and collide with their destiny?

My ther heart want to make sure that the journey ‘home’ is not hard.

Leave a Reply

