Ruth: God is King

One of the rules in our home is ‘there is only one king in this home and there is only room for 1’. If you try and act like the king, you get to serve the person you are attempting to overrule. It is a rule for the kids not the adults but I wonder if we did use this rule for all the adults, if it would help humanity.
As a parent I need to help my kids understand heathy functional authority. We, as parents have a big responsibility as the first role models they get to see. It starts with how we serve our king and his kingdom and the place we have Jesus in our home and our own lives. I am a representative of the king and I am the bench mark example for kingdom living they use. Do they see Jesus as King in my life?

God is King comes into my own story in so many different aspects of my life.

Is God king in my finances and my financial decisions and giving?
Is God King in my relaitonships and friendships and family.
is God king when my kids are not ding right or am I,
Is God king when everything is going pear shaped.
is God kingwhen my ways seems right but it clashes with God’s way.

If my family have always done it ‘this way’ but God’s way is different : who is King?

If my parenting style is based on my family upbringing or my past or my fears but it is not God’s way…who is King?

If there is a conflict in my home..who is king?

If I am getting frustrated with my kids ???who is king?

If I don’t feel like it or it isn’t fun…who is King?

When Is God king? When he is making me feel good and doing what I ask or is he king all the time, present tense. Is He king when I am happy and not when I am upset or is he King all the time?

Is he king when there is famine or is he only king when things are going well for me.

If I think he is not doing a good job as king do I step in or is he still king…can I trust his authority or only mine?

Are there areas I allow him to be king but areas that I refuse to allow him jurisdiction?
Is God king of some things or ALL?

When I feel bitter or angry or frustrated I find myself questioning his ability to do is job as king well…
If God is King then why is there a famine?
If god is king then why ami dealing with disappointment.

Maybe disappointment is the reality that I have been trying to be king instead of god being king and I am demanding he serve me and when he doesn’t I get bitter because I want him to do my will.

I know my God is king but if I struggle to let him lead, and rule and do what a King is meant to do then I am not coming under the authority Of that king, I am coming under my own. OUCH!!!

LORDSHIP and KINGSHIP… We hear a lot about salvation but Lordship?. When Ruth says to Naomi ???your God shall be my God …she declares a statement of Lorship. ‘Your God is King and he shall be my God and that means My KING.’ If I feel the need on be In control …it is my desperate yearning to control because I don’t trust that God can do his job properly. It is either me or someone else in control or I am out of control and he is in control. Self control…the fruit of the spirit…allowing my self to come under God’s control. the ability to trust that He has ‘got this’ and I can trust him.

Just like an earthly father can give us a good or bad reflection of our Heavenly Father so too the earthly kings in history give us a picture of God’s rule and kingship but the picture is never as perfect as the real deal. I need god to frame his own image of King for me. Elimilech means MY GOD..not just Israel’s God is king…perfect in wisdom, rule, justice, authority, provision, protection, power….
Jesus (as king) was/ the exact representation of all that God (as king) had been to the people of Israel but they we’re not happy or content. They had God as king but everyone lived and is what seemed right in hi he re own eyes…so nothing has really changed for us today. Jesus help me see you as the perfect king and let this name resonate throughout every aspect of my life. MY GOD IS KING.

One thought on “Ruth: God is King

  1. They had God as king but everyone lived and is what seemed right in his or her own eyes…so nothing has really changed for us today. Jesus help me see you as the perfect king and let this name resonate throughout every aspect of my life. MY GOD IS KING.

Leave a Reply

