NOTHING…absolutely NOTHING devotions 29

imageDo nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. (Philippians 2:3, 4 NIV)

Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too. (Philippians 2:3, 4 NLT)

Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand. (Philippians 2:3-4 MSG)

Do nothing from factional motives [through contentiousness, strife, selfishness, or for unworthy ends] or prompted by conceit and empty arrogance. Instead, in the true spirit of humility (lowliness of mind) let each regard the others as better than and superior to himself [thinking more highly of one another than you do of yourselves]. Let each of you esteem and look upon and be concerned for not [merely] his own interests, but also each for the interests of others. (Philippians 2:3, 4 AMP)

I would like to think that the minute I discover selfish ambition and self interest is driving my relationships and the decisions, that I would not only recognise it but be willing to change it. The Holy Spirit plays a vital role in this process. When I read a scripture like this, he convict me…and I get to partner with him in changing. I don’t think this is about being obsessive but rather letting the word of a God filter my motives as I face stuff and people.

There is absolutely no environment or context or situation or relationship where selfish ambition and vein conceit will help us become a unified body of believers…in our teams, in our homes, in our marriages, in our small groups, in our departments, in an event, in our gatherings, in our interactions and relatnships, in our planning, in our decisions making, in our vision and in our calling….the Holy Spirit is my helper.

Most arguments happen because selfishness and pride have come into the relationship. When someone doesn’t do what we demand are they selfish or are we.

What does selfish ambition look like in the season I am in?
What are my interests and how do I make others interests more important.?
How do I know what other’s interests are?
How do I filter my life ( actions, talk, friendships, everything) so that selfish ambition and vain conceit don’t lead and motivate me… Ever!
How does selfish ambition impact on one- ness and unity? Jesus optimizes this verse so rather than strive in it I simply listen for the Holy Spirit’s conviction and stop justifying my arrogance and lane executes for selfish living:)

Leave a Reply

