Partnership – devotions 15

‘;for you have been my partners in spreading the Good News about Christ from the time you first heard it until now. …
For I know that as you pray for me and the Spirit of Jesus Christ helps me, this will lead to my deliverance. …
We are in this struggle together. You have seen my struggle in the past, and you know that I am still in the midst of it. (Philippians 1:5, 19, 30 NL
T)

Next month I head to COLOUR CONFERENCE and it is always about what God is going to do in the hearts of Hills women to bring us into partnership with effective projects that will spread the gospel. The colour sisterhood is something I partnered our church with several years ago. I represent over 100 women when I go. My heart as a pastor is to not just hear God’s heart for humanity but ask him how we (representing 100 families back home) can more effectively see the gospel change lives through the world.

Through out Philippians I am reminded a number of times to consider my partnership in the gospel in a way that is personal and relational. I don’t just want to send money this year and feel I have ticked a box. That in fact is a western cop out. It has to be the power of agreement and knowing what sort we play… When I look at the whole letter and put partnership on context.. I have to consider the role grace plays, the role selflessness and suffering plays, the role unity and ‘together’.

My heart for the nurture groups is for each one to take responsibity as a group to partner with me. I am praying as the girls sit in Philippians this year they take philippians 2:5 seriously,…that selfishness will not be on the agenda and that sitting in this book for 6 months will help about break us out of apathy and discontent and positi us free and unshackled from excuses.. Fighting against the bars of selfishness and self interest to and find ourself in pursuit of another agenda.

That God will call us out of our comfort zones and into cutting edge partnership but it can only flow from a position of contentment, gratitude and seeing and experiencing grace and freedom knowing Jesus will pour grace and provision on whatever we sow into. That humility and selflessness will be the doors we choose to walk through however narrow they may feel. This letter is not just about God providing grace and peace for ourselves and our individual needs but our corporate desire to partner with those who can provide it to others.

God what is it that you want on my radar for my family and for Hills women to partner with. Are we being intentional enough…..how do I equip hills women to partner with me in these connections effectively.

What is my place. My role is not just financial but as a leader of women who represent hundreds of others.

What role do my nurture leaders and groups have in this spreading the gospel partnership…

Over the next few weeks I am praying for the girls who go to colour not to just be impacted personally but to see their role in partnership…where do they fit in this vision of mission and what part we each play in the puzzle. To be asking God what can we do together..what can we do when grace is poured on it. What God is asking women to do that will require uncomfortable, sacrifice, partnership that is going to draw provision from heaven to situations around the earth that need heaven’s grace.

I am also praying for Hills Church chicks to take up their part in partnership…to carry the weight of their responsibilities well…
I love that March all about Philippians 2 – the focus is humility and selflessness . This is a divine orchestration where God is going to show us the need and then take us through chapter 2 ….humility, selflessness, unity..the ingredient that make partnership possible. The call to let love abound even if hard and pouring out is part of that mission.

Leave a Reply

