‘I don’t FEEL like an Eagle’ with Jackie Koster

I wonder if you have ever met someone who, when they leave you feel like you have just had a visit from Jesus himself. Jackie Koster is one of those people. She is one of those people genuinely knows how to refresh the lives of those who cross her path. Jackie is my guest blogger this week as we continue on our theme of living strong. Jackie and Rick and their son Josh are an integral part of Hills Church community. One of her most influential roles Jackie sows her life into is that of CRE teacher in some of our local primary schools and she has a passion to make an impact on kids lives that they will remember for years to come.

Jackie writes:

Once, at a Conference, something out of the ordinary happened to me.

Seated inside the auditorium, in the middle of a listening to the Speaker, we were stunned by the arrival of a live Wedge-tailed eagle (with his trainer).

He swooped above our heads, powerful and magnificent, silent except for the rush of wind that fanned our heads and shoulders by his closeness. It was breath-taking.

Later, while we were watching a video on Eagles, God spoke to me in my heart and said, “That’s you. You’re an eagle”. “No I’m not! I couldn’t be!” I argued. “I’m too insignificant.”

I’m embarrassed to say that I still feel that way. And why should I have the gumption to believe that God thinks I’m worthy enough to be called an “eagle”?

The answer is because his Word says so!!

Do you know he calls ALL of us, his beloved sons and daughters, “eagles”. Not chickens. Or ducks. Or any other defenseless kind of creature.

Isaiah 40:28 “Haven’t you heard? The Lord is the eternal God, Creator of the earth. He never gets weary or tired; his wisdom cannot be measured.

Isaiah 40:31 “BUT those who trust the Lord will find new strength. They will be strong like eagles soaring upward on wings; they will walk and run without getting tired.” (CEV)

It’s really simple. When the Bible says something, I can choose to believe it.

Do you believe God loves you? He adores you. He knows you inside out. He designed you and He is perfect.

Our strength comes from the Lord. From prayer. From reading his Word and BELIEVING that it is true. Every word written there.

I heard Joyce Meyer say it’s vital that an eagle preens himself each morning to prepare for the day. If we spend time with God each and every morning/day we will have added strength to face everything that happens.

I love the picture Jesus gives us of being yoked to him. That means we’re right beside him, stride by stride going where he goes. Chatting to him, pulling with him, ploughing for the harvest.

And the best bit is that yoked to him, he comes with us wherever WE go!

Jesus is strong. Listen to a few of his names: Wonderful, Counsellor, Prince of Peace, Mighty God, Everlasting Father. Specifically apply his Name to each situation in your life that you need God’s Strength for. His changing touch.

He is with us. How incredible is that. He is with us! The Lord strong and Mighty, the Lord Mighty in battle. (Psalm 24:8)

When feelings tell me I’m weak, the Bible tells me that in me, God is strong. He is with me and you!

20130529-231322.jpg

9 thoughts on “‘I don’t FEEL like an Eagle’ with Jackie Koster

  1. Thanks Jackie for your encouragement. I love that when I am weak, I am made strong by God. This sounds so simple, but is so very profound. I love your passion for CRE.

  2. Love this Jackie! Love you too. Isaiah 40:31 is one of my life scriptures. Riding the wind with the Lord right now (even if I don’t “feel” like an eagle). xxx

  3. I really felt refreshed and given more strength to keep going by reading this beautiful reminder of who we are in Christ…. Keep up the amazing work you are doing, you are significant in peoples lives, because God chose you first and you made the choice of using His gifts and talents…
    Love Michelle Bird
    xoxo

  4. Thank you Jackie – so true – His Word is truth, when we are weak, He is strong – we must learn to wait on Him, then we will soar. Bless you beautiful lady – you are such a gem.

  5. I’m very humbled by Jenny’s words – I am like everybody else. We’re all a work in progress. This afternoon I was yelling at the snail – like driver in front of me while drivng to pick up Josh. I’m desparate to learn to be patient!!! All I know is God is gracious to us and changes us into his image bit by bit. Jackie K

Leave a Reply

