‘What’s in your Hand’

20121018-075950.jpg

Today is Anti Human Trafficking day. If you read my blog you will already know our desire to help through the work of The A21 Campaign. Many of you are in the process of playing your part by doing what you can through the 500 Project. This blog is written by Beth Redmann, the wife of well known Worship leader / songwriter Matt Redmann. This is taken from Christine Caine’s Blog ‘Equip and Empower’: You can read it and other blogs by Chris here:http://www.christinecaine.com

Beth Redmann writes:

Mark 12:41-44: Then he sat down opposite the offering box, and watched the crowd putting coins into it. Many rich people were putting large amounts. And a poor widow came and put in two small copper coins, worth less than a penny. He called his disciples and said to them, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the offering box than all the others. For they all gave out of wealth. But she, out of her poverty, put in what she had to live on, everything she had.”

This beautiful image of the widow’s mite captivated me and reminded me of something Bobbie Houston said at a Colour Conference some years ago. At the time I was feeling overwhelmed; trying to keep up with life. My husband was traveling the world leading worship and I was at home with our children. I knew this was part of my call but as social media began to grow and people’s highlights and good deeds were filling up my feed, what I personally had to offer felt a little small. In particular, I’d started to care deeply about the work of the A21 campaign and wondered what I could do to help. So Bobbie’s life giving words in that moment could not have been more timely:

“We give what we can, with what we have in our hands.”

As she spoke, a God-affirmation washed over me. I thought about the widow’s mite and I was reminded that the kind of offering God looks for does not have to be big or spectacular. It just has to be our best. Over time I realized that one thing I had ‘in my hands’ was schools-work. My late teens and twenties were spent doing schools-work and I knew that was still in my hands. I also knew that when it came to the issue of human trafficking there was a real need for awareness among young people. And as they make the loudest noise and have the most energy I thought it would be a good place to start! I started doing some school lessons in a tough part of East London and loved seeing their response. Through a few beautiful twists and turns I found myself talking about these lessons with MP’s and education leaders in the Houses of Parliament. I can’t wait to see what will happen next, but already I can see that God has taken the little I had in my hands and multiplied it.

It’s easy to feel overwhelmed by the statistics involved in human trafficking. We want to change this horrific injustice but what difference can one person bring? From reading Matt 12:41-44 and pondering on Bobbie’s words it not only makes an acceptable offering to God, but God uses it to make a difference! I chatted recently with a dear friend who had been in psychiatric care on and off for 14 years. She began the road to recovery and stumbled across Christine Caine being interviewed by Joyce Meyer. As Chris shared about the work of A21 and told stories of rescue and restoration she also breathed a powerful truth that equipped and empowered my friend. Chris shared that we can’t do everything, but we can all do something. At the beginning of the program, she could have felt overwhelmed by a number, but by the end just like the widow with her mite, she knew she had something to bring. She signed up to be an A21 intercessor – and since then has played a beautiful and significant part in the mission of A21. She prayed with all she had!

Let’s not get deflated as we watch social media updates roll by today, we can’t all GO but we can all PRAY,we can’t all GIVE thousands but we can all GIVE something. We can all play a part. So look down, what do you have to give? Now look up! Give generously! Give in secret! Give knowing that no matter what season you are in, your heavenly Father is watching. He is proud of you and just as Jesus performed the miracle with the five loaves and two fish in John 9:6 remember HE is able to multiply what may seem small and insignificant in your life and in your hands today!

Beth xx

20121018-080250.jpg

2 thoughts on “‘What’s in your Hand’

  1. Thanks Jen,
    What a beautiful anointed message, so encouraging. Life lived for God is rich and full. Caring for others is his heart.

Leave a Reply

