Favour when You Fall

20120728-223135.jpg

Ever been one to trip over? I have always managed to trip over almost anything. Steve is forever looking out for me so I don’t trip and is astounded hat I can stumble over nothing. I have a feeling it is a little genetic. I also do the same in my personal walk with Jesus. I manage to trip and fall over all sorts of things. ,
The dictionary defines stumble as stum·ble  both a verb and a noun. [
verb (used without object)
1.to strike the foot against something, as in walking or running, so as to stagger or fall; trip.
2.to walk or go unsteadily: to stumble down a dark passage.
3.to make a slip, mistake, or blunder, especially a sinful one: to stumble over a question; to stumble and fall from grace.
4.to proceed in a hesitating or blundering manner, as in action or speech (often followed by along ).
5.to discover or meet with accidentally or unexpectedly (usually followed by on, upon, or across ): They stumbled on a little village.

verb (used with object)
7.to cause to stumble; trip.
8.to give pause to; puzzle or perplex.
Stumble is one of our favorite verbs.

noun
9.the act of stumbling.
10.moral lapse or error.
11. slip or blunder.

The word stumble can make me feel that I have to get this walk perfect before I find his Favour. When will I get it that Jesus is why his goodness and mercy follows me…It is my position of Favour that gives me access to his Favour.

The Psalmist David writes in Psalm 37:23,24
23 If the LORD delights in a man’s way, he makes his steps firm; 24 though he stumble, he will not fall, for the LORD upholds him with his hand.

What a beautiful picture of Favour. The Lord delights in me therefor even if I stuff up, my trip is not the destination. Though I stumble, I will not fall not because I am better at walking but because he is great at holding me and getting me back on my feet. Favour in the moments of my personal failings makes makes me stand in awe at his Goodness and mercy which follows me everyday. As a wife I may stumble, as a friend I may stuff it up, as mum but I am grateful for the Favour found in the falling.

The scripture uses this word stumble in an interesting way. Among the myriad of things that can cause me to stumble is the issue of people. It can be people (aka human beings, flesh and blood and often most well meaning friends) who can cause you to stumble. It can be their words, their actions, their neglect, their opportunities, their advice, their leadership, their sin, their manipulation or controlling tendencies, their opinions, their rules, their agenda, or just our own perceptions. If people can trip us up..could it be possible that you cold be causing someone else to stumble? Our words, our actions, our neglect, our opinions, our rules, our suspicions, our agenda, our opportunities, our advice, our leadership, our emotions, our tools of manipulation or controlling tendencies, or others perceptions. In Paul’s letters to the church he often warns us to watch out for people because their opinions can make us trip.

We as the Sisterhood are called to conduits of God’s Favour but can unintentially become a stumbling block in someone’s path. My prayer is that the only stumbling block is when someone stumbles upon our lives they will discover that they stumbled on the Favour of God and nothing else.

20120728-223145.jpg

One thought on “Favour when You Fall

  1. You know what Jen, I really love this post. It really does make me think at a whole different level in relation to our actions, responses and attitudes. Its not just about me and my personal relationship with the Lord, (Its quite easy to fall into that trap “Well God knows everything about me and still loves me, so its ok”) but it puts in almost a care of duty to others, at a level I had never really given much thought. And I was really quite convicted. Horrified to think I would cause another to Sin. Which is great, because I hope it will really make me think in areas I may not have given much, and change my actions, thoughts and responses where I know they could be imporved. It gives me even more reason too.

Leave a Reply

