The Invitation is there…

I love to watch our animals eat.  There is something that happens when I enter the kitchen about 4:45 to start getting the finishing touches to a meal ready.  A cat begins to  wind itself around my legs and prowling between them and the bench, making sure I can’t do anything well until I notice him.  If I ignore him He will plant himself right in the middle of where I need to walk so I have to climb over him or move him.  The dog sits in the entrance and moans and whimpers to get my attention and if I ignore him he slumps at the door and give me the evil eye and sulky expression and if I don’t make eye contact he literally eyeballs me.  The reason for this annoying behaviour is because they have learnt that being a pet comes with generous helpings of prepared food and the occasional treat off the ground if lucky. Liquorice the cat and Charles our dog both know that before I finish getting our dinner on the table I will pick up their dishes and give them lashing of whatever is planned for their tea or they know that if they are annoying enough it will remind me to call who ever is on duty to feed the animals to come and sort them out.  They know that food is available and when it is ready they will be called to eat.  The reason they are so keen to eat is because they are hungry and have no source of food at some other table. Our cat and our dog vie for the position of King every day of their lives.  They actually believe that the world revolves around them.  We sometimes can act like them. What is even funnier to watch is both of them vie for the scraps that we might have available while cutting up something on the bench.  It remind me of the woman…

Matthew 15:  21Jesus went away from there, and withdrew into the district of Tyre and Sidon. 22And a Canaanite woman from that region came out and began to cry out, saying, “Have mercy on me, Lord, Son of David; my daughter is cruelly demon-possessed.” 23But He did not answer her a word. And His disciples came and implored Him, saying, “Send her away, because she keeps shouting at us.” 24But He answered and said, “I was sent only to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.” 25But she came and began to bow down before Him, saying, “Lord, help me!” 26And He answered and said, “It is not good to take the children’s bread and throw it to the dogs.” 27But she said, “Yes, Lord; but even the dogs feed on the crumbs which fall from their masters’ table.” 28Then Jesus said to her, “O woman, your faith is great; it shall be done for you as you wish.” And her daughter was healed at once.

This is a bizarre story about the favour of God.  Was Jesus being mean?…..Was he being a bully?  Was he tormenting this poor woman..like we do with our dog…holding out on him to see what he will do to get crumbs we offer him.   Or is that Jesus is  seeking to draw out of her what he knew was in her heart..genuine trust and faith regardless of what challenge she faces.   I have felt sometimes that I am like the dog and Jesus is tomrenting me and holding up what I need in front of my nose but this story reminds me that there is something he seeking in me that he wants to honour.  This woman’s faith is tenacious.  It is not halted by torment of challenge.  She is willing to belvie that even the scraps of God’s goodness is enough to heal her daughter.  If just his scarps are enough …imagine what is avaialbe to us because we belong to him.  She willingly responded to his words becasue she knew Him and she believe he could heal. If even the scarps of God’s goodness are enough for you …imagine the inheritance he has promised to those who believe….The mystery is that he has invited us to a banquet and there is no jew or gentile, slave or free, or some perfect candidate picked out for his grace…..you are inivted to come….

This week I invite you to simply believe…he is able!!  This woman knew Jesus could heal her daughter and could engage with Jesus at the deepest level becasue she believed.   I invite you to believe that the favour of God is available not because of anything you deserve but becasue of who he is!.  Jesus honoured her faith and he will honour yours too!

4 thoughts on “The Invitation is there…

  1. The imagery in this story that you have highlighted are just amazing Jenny – this has been one of my favourite experiences in the Bible that I have often identified with believing for God’s favour on me even though I don’t deserve it – and being grateful for merciful crumbs – and then really receiving lashings of goodness and mercy.

    Eric and I enjoy “Bonnie” begging and then revel in treating her beyond her needs – I even believe that one day we might set a place for her at the table !

  2. Thanks Jenny. Kev and I were looking at that reading the other day, and received some insight into it, and your MSG gives more truth and insight again. Thank you doesn’t seem enough, but I pray that we all look in anticipation and expectancy for the Favour God wants to honor us with.

  3. I have the same problem , in the kitchen and in the bedroom , in the bedroom ruby, the Labrador rests her head on my side of the bed and looks longingly at me with her downcast eyesy hoping to score a morsel off my toast and the cat runs at lightning speed up and down the hall way launching herself across the top of my bed hoping to be annoying enough to encourage me to leave my bed and head to the kitchen to feed her .
    All that aside , great post Jenny , defiantly working on being faithful enough to trust that God is infinitely more able than I could ever dream or see and that his picture is Far bigger than my plans for myself .
    Love your encouragement and your perspective Jen

  4. I love this Jen, lately God has been reminding me that He is “more than enough” and it is so encouraging to know that He knows our every need and that even the tiniest morsel that we are given is enough for us! He is able to bring abundance out of little and His heart is always to bless us abundantly. This week I was reminded of the loaves and fishes, of the woman who gave her last penny and how other people’s generosity of heart – even though perhaps a tiny gift, brought blessing. So thankful we have a God of generosity and abundance and that He seeks to see our hunger and desperation of heart for Him. It is us that learn along the way, that He is faithful and not Him holding out on us! He is always faithful, always good and always there. Thank you for your encouragement and reminder to us all to REMAIN in the Vine and STAY faithful and hungry to seek more of Him.

Leave a Reply

