It’s all about ME?

It ended up being a pretty lame movie. All about the heroine being empowered by the realization that, ‘It’s all about me! I come first.’ Her husband and children were discarded in her stampede to a new and better life.

I’ll be away the next few weeks enjoying some valuable recharge time with my precious family.  While I am away from my desk, I  have asked some ladies in our church to have some input in my Sisterhood Weekly Blog.  So many of our women have something valuable to say and I think it’s important for them to have a voice.   This week it’s our amazing Jackie Koster

Jackie writes……………On the long weekend, a few weeks ago, I settled down to watch a “chick flick”.  It ended up being a pretty lame movie. All about the heroine being empowered by the realization that, ‘It’s all about me! I come first.’  Her husband and children were discarded in her stampede to a new and better life.

After that I found myself thinking constantly on 1 Corinthians 2:2 “For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.”  The previous chapter in 1 Corinthians is all about wisdom.  The world plays the same old tune, “I’m going to put me first.” We see it in movie after movie, where a character (most often a woman) goes to ‘find herself’.

Jesus says to look for him instead!  And to those who find him, he fills up to overflowing with his comfort and strength.

I love God.  He’s changed me!  He is real.  And he lavishes his love on us. No matter how you feel, no matter what you’ve done, he’s there with his arms open, ready to forgive and “start the day again”.

Josh and I often have a pact of ‘starting the day again’ whatever the time of day, if we’ve had a big blow up or if one of us is too grumpy. (Of course that’s never me!)   And we can do that with God, too.  Don’t leave it to come to him for forgiveness.  I used to think there was a time frame for forgiveness.  I wouldn’t pray for days, sometimes even weeks, in the thought that God wouldn’t even look at me, I was so bad.  Let me tell you, that is a lie from the enemy.  He wants to isolate us from God, knowing that any relationship that gets cold is much harder to start up again.

1 Corinthians 2:2 “I deliberately kept it plain and simple; first Jesus and who he is; then Jesus and what he did – Jesus crucified.” Once a fortnight on a Tuesday, I’m reduced to nervous and trembling, waiting for evening when Rick gives me a prescribed injection.  I know I’m pathetic because the size of the needle is teeny.  But I dread it.  And every week while I’m waiting I think of Jesus and what he went through. From a child he probably knew that he would be going to suffer a painful death.  He watched each Passover growing up, knowing he would eventually take the place of that lamb.  And still he did it.  He set his face like flint to endure the cross.

Why did he do it?  On the cross, he saw your face.  He saw your children’s faces,  your great grandchildren’s.  He died once and for all to reclaim us. He bought us back from the enemy of our soul.  He’s set us free from the past, from the fear of death.  He is all in all.  He will look after everything in our lives.  He never forgets a single prayer.

Everything comes back to the cross.  Jesus won our righteousness there.  Our freedom to come right up to God and know he’s got all the time in the world for us.  That is what the world is looking for.  And we can let them in on it!

One thought on “It’s all about ME?

  1. Thanks, Jackie – great thoughts. If only we kept in mind that when we give away our life to Jesus, He gives us amazing life – way and above anything we could have run after ourselves or connived for – that’s the wonderful “foolishness” of the message. Perhaps I should stop worrying so much about being “wise” in the world’s eyes…..

    Bless you. Wendy x.

Leave a Reply

