is Justice REALLY served?

“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” – Martin Luther King.

When I write something for Sisterhood Friday, I am always amazed how prophetic it can be without me realising it is until sometime later.  I always have intentions of doing so but don’t always do so with that in mind. 

Last week, I wrote to you about Justice.  The last thing on my mind was that Osama Bin Laden would be where he is today and that one of the most used words on twitter and the internet over the days that followed was the word JUSTICE.  One of the most used phrases in the news was this one: Obama says ‘justice is done’.  I wonder if justice has been done?   Will the death of Bin Laden really ease the pain of those who have lost loved one’s as a result of his reign of terror? Will his death ever be enough to pay the price on the nations affected by his followers?  Won’t his death just fuel more anger and violence and hatred rather than bring things back in balance?   I am not about to have an opinion on things that have not effected me personally (such as losing a loved one on 9/11) however, I do want to leave a quote with you that expresses something extraordinary about faith.  This was something that circulated on Facebook following the announcement of Bin Ladin’s death.

“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” – Martin Luther King.  (SELAH)

My question today is this: In the light of this quote is there a woman in your life who you are struggling to love today? How can you add light and NOT darkness to her life?  Consider this:  The only way you can is to know THE Light, be the light and shine your light.

Sister: someone needs your light to shine in the darkness of their world today  …who will it be.  Be obedient to that still small voice.  There is favour and power there!

Leave a Reply

